Hurt

I generally don’t like covers of songs. To me, their just cheap rip-offs done by wannabe artists without the originality or imagination to write anything that’s really worth listening to. But I’m not saying that all cover songs are bad, I guess a few are actually better than the originals. Take Johnny Cash’s cover of ‘Hurt’ for example. Although I do love the original Nine Inch Nails version, Cash perfects it.

The Nine Inch Nails version is about a young man living with depression, it is beautifully written and beautifully sung, I believe Trent Razor and the Nine Inch Nails should have received a bit more credit for creating such a powerful and moving song. A very nostalgic Johnny Cash sings the song as quite an elderly man, reminiscing the days of when he was younger, wishing he could go back in time and fix all the mistakes he had made.

I have no personal connection with this song, yet Cash makes me feel like I am the elderly person who looks back over my life and morn over what has happened. I suppose that’s why I adore his cover so much, very few artists manage to do covers that make me actually want to listen to it, let alone completely make it their own, like Johnny Cash did.

9 thoughts on “Hurt”

  1. I beg to differ – Although I love Johnny Cash’s version of Hurt, ‘reminiscing’ over the past, I still prefer the original Nine Inch Nails version of the song. I disagree with how you have branded a song, which in actual fact is about realizing consequence and regret, as a song about a ‘man living in depression’. You have rudely and naively labelled the creator and the song, which I don’t really think you understand the meaning of.

    The song itself sends a powerful message about how we should all proceed through life wisely, because there is nothing worse than being stuck with a label, a pain, a sickness, or a death, that we know beforehand – leaving us wishing things had been different and that we could change the choices we made.

    Explaining the self-loathing nature of the songs on The Downward Spiral album, Trent Reznor told USA Today: “I’m not proud to say I hate myself and don’t like what I am, but maybe there is real human communication that ends up positive even though everything being said is negative.” Unlike the Johnny Cash version of Hurt, which uses the video to convey it’s message, Nine Inch Nails are able to engage with the listeners by give an insight into the maddening world drug users are trapped within. It also allows drug users themselves to associate themselves with this song whilst giving them the opportunity to reflect over their lives on a personal level because of their own experience. This I think was very brave of the band.

    I commented on this as a result to your conceited way of pushing aside the message and the way Nine Inch Nails produced the song. I hope you appreciate and respect my view on this matter as I meant no offence. Your blogs are a joy to read and I hope you carry on the good work.

    1. Aleena.
      How long have we known eachother now? Four years? If there’s anything we both can’t agree on is this.
      Believe me, I love both versions equally although for me, I prefer Cash’s version that tiny bit better (seriously tiny).
      I envy Trent Razor for writing such a beautiful song, and I admire the band for doing the lyrics so much justice.
      Like I said, I love both versions almost equally. I’m sorry, but that’s just my opinion.
      I respect your opinion because you have the right to express it. I also thank you for going out of your way to read it, because that matters a lot to me.
      But just remember this: I am WAY better than you at drawing squirrels. Always have been, always will, my friend. 😀 xx

Leave a Reply

